About & Contacts

About The Intercept

After NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden came forward with revelations of mass surveillance in 2013, journalists Glenn Greenwald, Laura Poitras, and Jeremy Scahill decided to found a new media organization dedicated to the kind of reporting those disclosures required: fearless, adversarial journalism. They called it The Intercept.

Today, The Intercept is an award-winning news organization that covers national security, politics, civil liberties, the environment, international affairs, technology, criminal justice, the media, and more. The Intercept gives its journalists the editorial freedom and legal support they need to pursue investigations that expose corruption and injustice wherever they find it and hold the powerful accountable.

EBay founder and philanthropist Pierre Omidyar provided the funding to launch The Intercept and continues to support it through First Look Media Works, a nonprofit organization.

Become a member

The kind of journalism we do is costly, and we need readers’ support to help keep The Intercept strong and independent. That’s why we have established a sustaining membership program that makes it easy to invest in courageous, quality reporting you can trust. Please click here to learn more about our membership program.

Contact us

Press

Are you a member of the press? Contact our media team.

Work with us

Interested in joining the Intercept team? View our job listings.

Legal

If you have a legal question, contact our legal team.

Submissions

To submit a proposal for consideration, please email it to submissions@theintercept.com.

Staff

Betsy Reed

Editor-in-Chief

Betsy Reed is an editor based in New York City. 

betsy.reed@theintercept.com

Glenn Greenwald

Co-founding Editor and Columnist

Glenn Greenwald is a journalist, constitutional lawyer, and author of four New York Times best-selling books on politics and law. 

glenn.greenwald@theintercept.com

Jeremy Scahill

Co-founding Editor and Senior Investigative Reporter

Jeremy Scahill is an investigative reporter and war correspondent. 

jeremy.scahill@theintercept.com

Josh Begley

Data Artist

Josh Begley is a data artist and app developer based in Brooklyn. 

josh.begley@theintercept.com

Sam Biddle

Technology Reporter

Sam Biddle is a reporter based in Brooklyn, focusing on malfeasance and misused power in technology. 

sam.biddle@theintercept.com

Alleen Brown

Reporter

Alleen Brown is a journalist and researcher. 

alleen.brown@theintercept.com

Soohee Cho

Junior Designer

Soohee Cho is a graphic designer based in New York and originally from South Korea. 

soohee.cho@theintercept.com

Aída Chávez

Politics Reporter

Aída Chávez is a journalist based in Washington, D.C. 

aida.chavez@theintercept.com

Matthew Cole

National Security Reporter

Matthew Cole is an investigative journalist covering national security and U.S. involvement in foreign conflicts. 

matthew.cole@theintercept.com

Cora Currier

Story Editor

Cora Currier is a journalist with a focus on national security, immigration, and human rights. 

cora.currier@theintercept.com

Ryan Devereaux

Reporter

Ryan Devereaux is an investigative journalist covering national security, immigration and criminal justice. 

ryan.devereaux@theintercept.com

Alex Emmons

Reporter

Alex Emmons is a reporter covering national security, foreign affairs, human rights, and politics. 

alex.emmons@theintercept.com

Lee Fang

Investigative Reporter

Lee Fang is a journalist with a long-standing interest in how public policy is influenced by organized interest groups and money. 

lee.fang@theintercept.com

Lauren Feeney

Video Producer

Lauren Feeney is a video journalist whose reporting has focused on poverty and human rights in the U.S. and abroad. 

lauren.feeney@theintercept.com

Rubina Madan Fillion

Director of Audience Engagement

Rubina Madan Fillion is a New York-based editor focused on social media and audience development. 

rubina@firstlook.org

Andrew Fishman

Reporter/Managing Editor, The Intercept Brasil

Andrew Fishman is a journalist based in Rio de Janeiro. 

fishman@theintercept.com

Ryan Gallagher

Investigative Reporter and Editor

Ryan Gallagher is a U.K.-based investigative journalist whose work is focused on government surveillance, technology, and civil liberties. 

ryan.gallagher@theintercept.com

Ali Gharib

Senior News Editor

Ali Gharib is a Brooklyn-based journalist. 

ali.gharib@theintercept.com

Charlotte Greensit

Managing Editor

Charlotte Greensit is an editor based in New York City. 

charlotte.greensit@theintercept.com

Ryan Grim

D.C. Bureau Chief

Ryan Grim is an editor based in Washington whose work has focused on influence and corruption. 

ryan.grim@theintercept.com

Roger Hodge

Deputy Editor

Roger D. Hodge is an editor and writer based in New York City. 

roger.hodge@theintercept.com

Philipp Hubert

Creative Director

Philipp Hubert is a graphic designer who has worked with a global client base on publishing, arts, and culture products. 

philipp.hubert@theintercept.com

Murtaza Hussain

Reporter

Murtaza Hussain is a national security journalist. 

murtaza.hussain@theintercept.com

Zaid Jilani

Reporter

Zaid Jilani is a journalist who hails from Atlanta, Georgia. 

zaid.jilani@theintercept.com

Andrea Jones

Story Editor

Andrea Jones is an editor based in Brooklyn. 

andrea.jones@theintercept.com

Shaun King

Columnist

Shaun King is a columnist who focuses on racial justice. 

shaun.king@theintercept.com

Micah Lee

Technology Analyst

Micah Lee is a technologist with a focus on operational security, source protection, privacy, and cryptography. 

micah.lee@theintercept.com

Peter Maass

Senior Editor

Peter Maass has written about war, media, and national security for a variety of outlets. 

peter.maass@theintercept.com

Miroslav Macala

Executive Assistant

Miroslav Macala is a New York-based executive assistant, originally from the Czech Republic. 

miroslav.macala@theintercept.com

Robert Mackey

Senior Writer

Robert Mackey is a reporter and columnist focused on mining social networks for evidence of news events. 

robert.mackey@theintercept.com

Travis Mannon

Social Media Producer

Travis Mannon is a social media producer based in Brooklyn. 

travis.mannon@theintercept.com

Chelsea Matiash

Senior Photo Editor

Chelsea Matiash is a Brooklyn-based journalist who has primarily focused on impactful visual storytelling for digital platforms. 

chelsea.matiash@theintercept.com

Sheelagh McNeill

Research Editor

Sheelagh McNeill is a journalist and research editor based in New York City. 

sheelagh.mcneill@theintercept.com

Kate Myers

Executive Director, Revenue and Operations, First Look Media Works

Kate Myers leads revenue operations and business strategy for the nonprofit side of First Look Media. 

kate.myers@firstlook.org

Maryam Saleh

Associate Editor

Maryam Saleh is an editor and reporter based in Washington, D.C., whose work focuses on immigration and national security. 

maryam.saleh@theintercept.com

Jon Schwarz

Senior Writer

Jon Schwarz is a writer and producer based in Brooklyn. 

jon.schwarz@theintercept.com

Liliana Segura

Senior Writer

Liliana Segura is a journalist and editor with a longtime focus on the failings and excesses of the U.S. criminal justice system. 

liliana.segura@theintercept.com

Jordan Smith

Reporter

Jordan Smith is an award-winning investigative journalist based in Austin, Texas. 

jordan.smith@theintercept.com

Alice Speri

Multimedia Reporter

Alice Speri is a multimedia journalist with an interest in justice, civil rights, and the struggle for equality. 

alice.speri@theintercept.com

Moiz Syed

Data Journalist and Designer

Moiz Syed is a data journalist and designer with an interest in technology, surveillance, and U.S. politics. 

moiz.syed@theintercept.com

Ryan Tate

Technology Editor

Ryan Tate has written about the use, abuse, and subversion of corporate power in the technology sector and beyond. 

ryan.tate@theintercept.com

John Thomason

Associate Research Editor

John Thomason researches, writes, and checks facts in New York City. 

john.thomason@theintercept.com

Margot Williams

Research Editor for Investigations

Margot Williams is a journalist and research editor who was part of two Pulitzer Prize-winning teams at the Washington Post. 

margot.williams@theintercept.com

About First Look Media

The Intercept is a publication of First Look Media. Launched in 2013 by eBay founder and philanthropist Pierre Omidyar, First Look Media is a multi-platform media company devoted to supporting independent voices, from fearless investigative journalism and documentary filmmaking to arts, culture, media and entertainment. First Look Media produces and distributes content in a wide range of forms including feature films, short-form video, podcasts, interactive media and long-form journalism, for its own digital properties and with partners.

Filters SVG