James K. Galbraith

Head shot of James K. Galbraith
James K. Galbraith holds the Lloyd M. Bentsen Jr. Chair in government/business relations at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs and a professorship in government at the University of Texas at Austin.

Galbraith holds degrees from Harvard University (BA) and Yale University (MA, M.Phil, Ph.D). He was executive director of the Joint Economic Committee of the U.S. Congress in the early 1980s and has advised the State Planning Commission of China and the Greek Finance Ministry. He chaired the board of Economists for Peace and Security from 1996 to 2016 and directs the University of Texas Inequality Project. He is a managing editor of Structural Change and Economic Dynamics journal.

In 2010, he was elected to the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei. In 2014 he was co-winner with Angus Deaton of the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economics. In 2020 he received the Veblen-Commons Award of the Association for Evolutionary Economics.

Galbraith’s recent books include: “Welcome to the Poisoned Chalice: The Destruction of Greece and the Future of Europe”; “Inequality: What Everyone Needs to Know”; “The End of Normal: The Great Crisis and the Future of Growth”; “Inequality and Instability: A Study of the World Economy Just Before the Great Crisis”; and “The Predator State: How Conservatives Abandoned the Free Market and Why Liberals Should Too.”