About & Contacts

Contact us

Press

Are you a member of the press? Contact our Media Team

Work with us

Interested in joining the Intercept team? Email us at jobs@theintercept.com

Legal

If you have a legal question, contact our Legal Team

Become a source

The Intercept is serious about protecting our sources. With our SecureDrop server, you can share messages and files with our journalists in a way that should help you remain secure and anonymous, even from us, if that is your preference. Messages and files that you send to us will be encrypted. Click here to find out about Securedrop. For more detailed operational security advice, read How to Leak to The Intercept.

Editorial Mission & Staff

The Intercept, launched in 2014 by Glenn Greenwald, Laura Poitras and Jeremy Scahill, is dedicated to producing fearless, adversarial journalism. We believe journalism should bring transparency and accountability to powerful governmental and corporate institutions, and our journalists have the editorial freedom and legal support to pursue this mission.

Betsy Reed

Editor-in-Chief

Betsy Reed is an editor based in New York City. 

betsy.reed@theintercept.com

Founding Editors

Glenn Greenwald

Co-founding Editor

Glenn Greenwald is a journalist, constitutional lawyer, and author of four New York Times best-selling books on politics and law. 

glenn.greenwald@theintercept.com

Laura Poitras

Co-founding Editor

Laura Poitras is a filmmaker, journalist, and artist. 

laura.poitras@theintercept.com

Jeremy Scahill

Co-founding Editor

Jeremy Scahill is an investigative reporter and war correspondent. 

jeremy.scahill@theintercept.com

Staff

Josh Begley

Research Editor

Josh Begley is a data artist and web developer based in Brooklyn. 

josh.begley@theintercept.com

Alleen Brown

Associate Research Editor

Alleen Brown is a journalist and researcher. 

alleen.brown@theintercept.com

Matthew Cole

National Security Reporter

Matthew Cole is an investigative journalist covering national security and U.S. involvement in foreign conflicts. 

matthew.cole@theintercept.com

Cora Currier

Reporter

Cora Currier is a journalist with a focus on national security, foreign affairs, and human rights. 

cora.currier@theintercept.com

Ryan Devereaux

Reporter

Ryan Devereaux is a Brooklyn-based journalist covering national security and criminal justice. 

ryan.devereaux@theintercept.com

Lee Fang

Investigative Reporter

Lee Fang is a journalist with a longstanding interest in how public policy is influenced by organized interest groups and money.  

lee.fang@theintercept.com

Andrew Fishman

Researcher

Andrew Fishman is a journalist and researcher based in Rio de Janeiro. 

fishman@theintercept.com

Dan Froomkin

Washington Editor

Dan Froomkin is a reporter, columnist, and editor with a focus on coverage of U.S. politics and media. 

dan.froomkin@theintercept.com

Ryan Gallagher

Reporter

Ryan Gallagher is a UK-based investigative journalist whose work is focused on government surveillance, technology, and civil liberties. 

ryan.gallagher@theintercept.com

Charlotte Greensit

Managing Editor

Charlotte Greensit is an editor based in New York City. 

charlotte.greensit@theintercept.com

Roger Hodge

National Editor

Roger D. Hodge is a Brooklyn-based editor and writer with a strong interest in political corruption, environmental politics and civil liberties. 

roger.hodge@theintercept.com

Murtaza Hussain

Reporter

Murtaza Hussain is a journalist and political commentator. 

murtaza.hussain@theintercept.com

Andrew Jerell Jones

Reporter

Andrew Jones is a Brooklyn-based journalist. 

andrew.jones@theintercept.com

Andrea Jones

Associate Editor

Andrea Jones is an editor and researcher based in Brooklyn. 

andrea.jones@theintercept.com

Micah Lee

Technology Analyst

Micah Lee is a technologist with a focus on operational security, source protection, privacy, and cryptography. 

micah.lee@theintercept.com

Peter Maass

Senior Editor

Peter Maass has written about war, media, and national security for a variety of outlets. 

peter.maass@theintercept.com

Morgan Marquis-Boire

Director of Security/Contributing Writer

Morgan Marquis-Boire is First Look Media's director of security and a regular contributor to The Intercept. 

morgan@firstlook.org

Jenna McLaughlin

Reporter/Blogger

Jenna McLaughlin is a reporter and blogger covering surveillance and national security.  

jenna.mclaughlin@theintercept.com

Sheelagh McNeill

Research Editor

Sheelagh McNeill is a journalist and research editor based in New York City. 

sheelagh.mcneill@theintercept.com

Jon Schwarz

Senior Writer/Editor

Jon Schwarz is a writer and producer based in Brooklyn. 

jon.schwarz@theintercept.com

Liliana Segura

Senior Writer/Editor

Liliana Segura is a journalist and editor with a longtime focus on the failings and excesses of the U.S. criminal justice system. 

liliana.segura@theintercept.com

Jordan Smith

Reporter

Jordan Smith is an award-winning investigative journalist based in Austin, Texas. 

jordan.smith@theintercept.com

Ryan Tate

Deputy Editor

Ryan Tate has written about the use, abuse, and subversion of corporate power in the technology sector and beyond. 

ryan.tate@theintercept.com

Juan Thompson

Reporter

Juan Thompson is a journalist with a focus on crime, punishment, the police state, and race. 

juan@theintercept.com

Sharon Weinberger

National Security Editor

Sharon Weinberger is a national security reporter with a focus on science and technology issues. 

sharon.weinberger@theintercept.com

Margot Williams

Research Editor for Investigations

Margot Williams is a journalist and research editor who was part of two Pulitzer Prize-winning teams at The Washington Post. 

margot.williams@theintercept.com

Jana Winter

National Security Reporter

Jana Winter is an investigative reporter based in Washington, D.C. 

jana.winter@theintercept.com

About First Look Media

The Intercept is a publication of First Look Media. Launched in 2013 by eBay founder and philanthropist Pierre Omidyar, First Look Media is a multi-platform media company devoted to supporting independent voices, from fearless investigative journalism and documentary filmmaking to arts, culture, media and entertainment. First Look Media produces and distributes content in a wide range of forms including feature films, short-form video, podcasts, interactive media and long-form journalism, for its own digital properties and with partners.